Skip to main content

The Fall 2020 Conference will be held virtually. Please refer to the link in the bottom left of the home page for more information.
 We plan to proceed with in-person conferences in the future, with the Spring 2021 Conference in Tucson 

Add Me To Your Mailing List

Abstract Submission

Fall 2020 Conference Info:
Fall 2020 Conference Brochure

To register for the Conference, please click the link below
Conference Registration


2020 AFMA Board Elections
Fall 2020 AFMA Voting



Welcome to AZFMA.ORG ! 
Use the panel at left to navigate the site.



Our AFMA Scholarship fund supports the best and brightest students in the realm of Water Resources.  Click the Scholarship Fund link on this page to donate!


The purpose and objective of AFMA is to provide a means of local representation on a state-wide basis regarding policies and activities dealing with floodplain management within the State of Arizona. This includes promoting the common interest in flood hazard mitigation, enhancing cooperation between the various related private, local, state and federal agencies, and encouraging and ensuring new and innovative approaches to managing the state's floodplains.


Narrows Dam on Centennial Wash




Formed in 1982, AFMA is a non-commercial, not for profit organization that provides local representation on a state-wide basis on floodplain management issues within Arizona. AFMA is a state chapter of the Association of State Floodplain Managers, providing members with a conduit to national level training, publications, and policy issues impacting the profession. The Association provides an educational forum for technical and regulatory training and discussion relative to management of Arizona’s floodplains. The Association cooperates with other agencies with similar interests including the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Association of State Floodplain Managers (ASFPM) and the Arizona Department of Water Resources (ADWR) and the Arizona Division of Emergency Management (ADEM).





Members represent a wide spectrum of people who desire to keep up-to-date on floodplain management issues. There are two membership classifications: Floodplain Administrator and Associate Membership. Floodplain Administrators are also the voting members of AFMA. Corporate Memberships are also available. A Corporate Membership allows a company or agency to provide AFMA membership to up to ten (10) employees.  AFMA is open to anyone interested in floodplain management, flood mitigation, the rainfall/runoff process, regulatory or legislative issues, or any of the many related bodies of knowledge. All members are encouraged to participate in the meetings, hold positions on committees, and hold office.




Membership dues for one calendar year are $50 for Individual Membership, $200 for Corporate Membership, Retired and Student Memberships are $17.50. General meeting registration fees are charged to defray meeting costs and vary depending upon the meeting location.






A Camp Creek cabin N of Cave Creek


 Courthouse Rd. in Harquahala Valley






AFMA wishes to thank our donors for their

generous contributions to our

Scholarship Program in 2020.

Jon Ahern
Scott Altherr
Leticia Antillon
Black and Veatch
Tony Bokich
Tom Condit
Zuchen Deng
Paul Ferris
Mark Fountain
Jonathan Fuller
Mike Gerlach
Bob Haneline
Michael Heaton
Timothy Huskett
Cheryl Johnson
Rob Lyons
Tim Mahon
Jack Moody
Howard Myers
Karen O'Brien
Ash Patel
Sandra Phillips
Lynn Thomas 
Greg Toth
John Wallace
Lance Webb

Thank you!

Click here to donate to our
2019 Scholarship Fund!




Hassayampa River at Wickenburg




General meetings are held twice per year, usually in May and November. Meeting locations rotate around the state between the Northern, Central and Southern regions in order to obtain understanding of local floodplain issues.  The first day is reserved for informative programs and training, and includes a variety of guest speakers. Committee meetings and reports and sometimes a field trip of local interest are held on the second day. A newsletter is published twice per year, prior to scheduled general meetings.